April 5, 2009

  • Bad Me!

    Our friend Daryl, has pointed out that it has been a month since I blogged, *AND* I have not told the world that I am reading a book he let me borrow. So Daryl, this blog is for you, happy now?

    Time does seem to slip through the fingers like sand at times! We have all been busy, but primarily in good ways. Work is very busy as we prepare for a lot new compliance laws the state of Massachusetts is requiring from the medical device industry. Starting July 1st, any time a sales person provides a meal, to a medical professional, while explaining our products or training in the use of them, we have to public disclose the information about the value and the medical professionals who received the meals. There are also all sorts of rules about how we can train, when we can train and where we can train people to properly use the products. So in preparation, I am building a database which will record each event, the name of each person attending, the credentials of the person as well as where they work, etc. It is a ton of work and will require many additional hours to do, but it is essential we have it in place, so we don’t get fined. Yes folks, while it sounds good on paper, this is the kind of stuff that increases the cost of medical related things. And unfortunately, it was a few unethical companies or sales reps, that made legislators put this in place.

    Both girls are on Spring break this next week and are very happy about that. Joe is happy too, he can sleep in since he won’t have to take them into school. I am happy because I don’t have to run around like mad each morning making lunches and breakfasts for the whole crew.

    In other news, we learned that Becca has been accepted into a charter school next year, that we really wanted her to go to. It is a group of schools in San Diego county called High Tech and has a focus on approaching learning on a project and teamwork basis to better prepare them for the work world. Textbooks are carried on laptops, etc. The got a big grant from the Bill Gates Foundation and it has a 100% graduation rate so far and I think it is around 90% who go onto college. Much higher and better than traditional public school.

    We hope Megan will be able to attend, but there was the highest application for her grade, since it the first year of middle school. So at this time, she was not accepted. However, Joe called the school and the Principal said she was almost positive Megan would very near the top of the waiting list, since she had a sibling in the school and even offered to talk to Megan on the phone to cheer her up and tell her that everything would be okay. She also promised to call Joe back in a week and let him now the status of her getting in! How nice is that? They ran a high school here last year, and next school year will be the first year they also offer middle school. There are several other campuses in San Diego county, with the oldest being about 10 years old. If you are curious to learn more, here is a link to the schools:

    http://www.hightechhigh.org/dc/index.php

    Meanwhile, Joe and I are getting ready to go off to England at the beginning of May, for the wedding of his son. We will only be there a bit more than a week, but with work, I am not in a position to be gone longer than that. Either way, it should be lovely to visit in spring. Most of my visits in the past have been in the fall or winter.

    Today I am trying to do some crafty things, having not had the time for several weeks now. I bought a little needle felting kit, and I am trying my hand at making some Easter bunnies. I also have decided I would like to make a small wooden doll wearing the traditional Swabian costume of the area of the Black Forest that Joe is from. We will see how much time I actually manage to get to do these things! Actually I can’t say I haven’t done ANY crafting lately. About 2 weeks ago I did make a couple more cubicle signs for friends at the office. They seem to be getting very popular. The first one is for a lady who gave me the star stickers and told me her favorite color was purple. So this is what I did for her:

    star break

    star lunch

    The second one is for a co-worker how has her whole cubicle done in a beach theme. So of course, I had to do something beach-like for her! The “break” side is my favorite!

    beack break

    beach lunch

    Have a great week and a fantastic Easter!

Comments (1)

  • Your signs are so cute.  I think you can develop a triving business!

    I am so glad that Becca got into the Tech school, and I am praying that Megan will also get accepted. 

    Hugs, Mom

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *