March 8, 2009

  • Updates and Pics

    Another weekend half done, and I am busy taking care of all those chores that come up during a week. I seem to have finally shaken my cold and cough and feel good, yeah! And the weather is just wonderful this weekend, sun and cool ocean breezes, very spring-like. Flowers are starting to bloom all over, hills are green and trees are budding.

    Both the bathrooms are done now, with nice new tubs and tiles. Then Thurs and Friday this week, all new windows were installed throughout the house! They look wonderful and we can already tell the heating and cooling difference they make, as well as how much quieter it is with double panes over the old single. My favorite part is the old sliding glass door to the backyard is now pretty white french doors. I will try to get some before and after pictures posted of them. The cats love the new doors, because there all tall narrow windows on either side of the doors, that open to screens and they can each take one and pretend to be wild, out-door kitties!

    Becca did her first solo trip to the mall with friends yesterday. I was no so sure about it, since a girl just about her age went missing 3 weeks ago in a nearby town and still has not been found. In the end, the father of one girl went to the mall too, but stayed sperate from the girls. The girls had to call every 30 minutes on their cell phones and check in. If they missed a call, it was time to go home. It all went well and they had a great, teenage time. She is SO grown up now, and is now towering at 5’4″ and won’t be 13 years old for 6 more months!

    I did a fun day with Megan. We went out in my Smart car and got some ice cream at Cold Stone and then went shopping together. Megan bought a cute little kitty statue of a “fairy” kitty with wings. It is very cute. We also stopped at the book store and she got a big fat book in a series called NightWorld she is reading.

    Meanwhile, I am busy cleaning dust and dirt off of EVERY surface in the house, from all the remodeling. And of course there is laundry, groceries and putting back furniture that had to be moved so the windows could go in. I got my craft area in the laundry room all organized while doing the furniture in there and hope to hang up the cool cannisters today (the ones I found at the antique store last week). I so love those! The question now is, what will I store in them?

    Anyhow, as I promised in my last blog, here are some pictures of the Mission San Juan Capistrano.

    fountain_and_ruins 

    The ruins, behind a very overgrown fountain. There are 7 or 8 huge koi living very happily in this fountain and about a zillion guppies.

    bells

    The bells, which I believe are still used

    ruins

    The old church, which is now in ruins. The rest of the buildings are intact, but this is all that is left of the grandest building.

    chimney

    I loved this funky chimney, there were several of them in various places.

    shaded_rest

    A shady rest near the Children’s garden

    Hope you all have a great week! Happy Spring!

Comments (2)

  • Absolutely lovely.  Reminds me very much of the mission I visited in Texas. 

    Becca is going to be tall, eh?  5’4″?  My niece just turned 13 yesterday, I’m not sure she’s broke 5′ yet, lol.  She’s a little mouse.  

  • Well her dad is 6’1, and has two aunts over 5’11, so yes, I think she will be tall. In fact, she was bugging me to measure her again, because she is sure she has grown taller! LOL!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *