Month: December 2008

  •  

    New_Year

    Wishing everyone a healthy, prosperous and Happy New Year!

  • My New Minature

    We bought this today, so I can use it for commuting back and forth to work, rather than running up the miles and wear and tear on Joe’s Porsche. It is so cute and I am so excited about drving it!! 

    IMG_1718

    IMG_1719

  • Merry Christmas

    Reach deep into your hearts and work to ask yourself, each hour, every day, what you can do, to make this a better world.

    Merry Christmas to you, may the selflessness of Christ, fill your heart in the coming year.

    MerryChristmas

     

  • Christmas is Coming…

    The tree is decorated. Here are some of my favorite decorations..

    002

    001

    003

    Megan and I spent some time today building a cardboard village, much like the vintage ones popular in the 50′s and 60′s. This was from a Martha Steward kit I found at Michaels.

    004

    The next step will be to add little wreaths, snow and lots and lots of glitter.

    Even Milkway has joined in the decorating fun.

    007

    I hope everyone is doing well and that you all have a very Merry Christmas!

  • Birthday and Things

    Today I turn 45. Half way to 90. Guess there is no way to try to logic that I am not middle age anymore, cuz I sure don’t expect to make it to 100!

    It has been a good day. For the first time since I can recall, virtually everyone sent me a card or gift on or before my birthday, so there was a happy little pile of goodies to open this morning. From Joe, there was a beautful necklace and matching earrings and a tartan purse I had been drooling over in a Celtic themed catalog we recieved. Megan found me a two disk CD collection of Celtic Christmas music and Becca got me the DVD of Golden Compass, a book and movie I dearly love.

    Mom sent a very cool book on retro aprons (I love all retro kitchen goodies), a needlework in blue and white for the kitchen and and a cool vintage decorative plate. From my sister Beth, a vintage style apron with embroidered teacups and from my other sister, a gift card or Kolh’s. And finally, at work, I was gifted with a gift card for the bookstore! Wow!

    For dinner, Joe made his fantastic homemade spaghetti sauce. So it was a good day.

    This weekend, after Thanksgiving, Joe and I went to Julian to just relax for a few days. The weather was picture perfect. Our room had a two-sided fireplace and I soaked in the whirlpool tub while enjoy the fire. We had wonderful meals by their cook, and enjoyed a crystal clear display of the moon, Venus and Jupiter, in their rare configuration.

    068

    And did I mention the sunsets were spectacular?

    In town, we learned the little used book shop had a new shop kitty (as unfortunately,the previous one had recently passed on from old age.) They held a contest to name her, and she was dubbed “Page”. I had to take about 6 pictures before I got on that wasn’t a grey blur!

    035

    Her mother, lives at the nearby garden shop and have the good life. Mom is now neutered however.

    024

    I love her markings, not at all like Page. Doesn’t she have a wonderful face? Page does have one brown area, on the bottom of her back, left foot is a streak of her mother’s brown.

    It was a very good weeknd. I read, did needlework, cuddled with Joe and slept in as late as I wanted!

    Hope you are all well, and things are as good for you, as they are for me.